Buy & sell race cars, rally cars, transporters, trailers & parts.

Latest ads Place an ad
Century Racing

Spengler wins DTM at Norisring with 5 BMWs in top six.

sign up

BMW victorious again at the Norisring after 25 years: Spengler wins, ahead of Martin, five BMW M4 DTMs in the top six.

  • First BMW win at the Norisring since 1992, 25th victory since the DTM comeback in 2012.
  • Bruno Spengler claims his first DTM win since Spielberg in 2013. Maxime Martin finishes runner-up.
  • First victory of the 2017 DTM season for BMW.

Norisring. Bruno Spengler (CAN) claimed the first win of the DTM season for BMW in Saturday’s race at the Norisring (GER). The Canadian’s first victory since the 2013 race in Spielberg (AUS) was not only a special moment for him, but was also a historic one for BMW. The last BMW driver to win at the street circuit in Nürnberg (GER) was Steve Soper (GBR) in a BMW M3 back in 1992. This latest success also marked BMW’s 25th victory since returning to the DTM in 2012. Maxime Martin (BEL) finished second to complete the 20th one-two for BMW in the DTM. He had started the race from pole position. Marco Wittmann (GER), Timo Glock (GER) and Tom Blomqvist (GBR) came home fourth, fifth and sixth to round off an outstanding team result for BMW.

The 20-minute qualifying session at the Norisring developed into a battle for every thousandths of a second. Maxime Martin (SAMSUNG BMW M4 DTM) clocked the fastest time of 47.472 seconds on his final lap to secure pole position, 0.005 seconds ahead of René Rast (GER, Audi). This was the third pole position of Martin’s DTM career and his first since the Saturday race at the 2015 DTM finale in Hockenheim (GER). This was BMW’s second pole position of the season and the 58th pole for the manufacturer in the DTM. Bruno Spengler (BMW Bank M4 DTM) was third fastest with a lap time of 47.493 seconds, earning him one point towards the Drivers’ Championship. Martin was rewarded for his pole position with three points. Tom Blomqvist (BMW Driving Experience M4 DTM), Marco Wittmann (Red Bull BMW M4 DTM) and Timo Glock (DEUTSCHE POST BMW M4 DTM) also qualified in the top ten in fourth, seventh and eighth respectively. In doing so, they rounded off the best qualifying result of the season for BMW. Augusto Farfus (BRA, Shell BMW M4 DTM) was 16th fastest.

Shortly before the start of the race, the Norisring was hit by a heavy shower, which resulted in a wet track. Bruno Spengler made a very good start on wet tyres, climbing into the lead from third place on the grid. Maxime Martin initially dropped from pole position into fourth place. However, he overtook René Rast on lap two to move into third. While Spengler was able to pull clear at the front, Martin passes Mattias Ekström (SWE, Audi) to regain second place on lap nine. After 20 laps, the track had dried out so much that all the drivers switched to slicks. Spengler and Martin retained the top two positions after the round of pit stops. Over the course of the race, Spengler pulled away from the chasing pack again. Martin fended off Ekström in a thrilling battle for second place. Marco Wittmann, Timo Glock and Tom Blomqvist worked their way through the field on slicks, ending the seventh race of the season in fourth, fifth and sixth. Blomqvist set the fastest lap time of 48.345 seconds. Augusto Farfus was forced to retire with a technical issue after 11 laps.

Country: United Kingdom
City: Editor
Phone: +44 (0) 7970 736644
Added: 02/07/2017
Views: 4352

Share by Email
Print page
Report Sold

Join 75,000+ buyers & sellers

Get our hugely popular newsletter and be amongst the first to hear about new listings, exclusive offers & discounts!